



10 December 2012

Australian Securities Exchange Company Announcements Level 4, 20 Bridge Street SYDNEY NSW 2000

APPOINTMENT OF MR GEOFFREY CLIFFORD AS DIRECTOR OF INDEPENDENCE GROUP NL

Independence Group NL is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Geoffrey T Clifford as a Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from today.

From 2007 until 2011 Mr Clifford was a Non-Executive Director of Atlas Iron Limited, Centaurus Metals Limited and Fox Resources Limited. From December 2008 to July 2011 he was Non-Executive Chairman of Atlas Iron Limited. During that time Geoff presided over a period of exceptional growth in production and shareholder wealth. From 2005 to 2007 Geoff was a Non-Executive Director of, and consultant to, Aztec Resources Limited and, prior to his time at Aztec, he was General Manager Administration and Company Secretary of Portman Limited for 8 years.

Mr Clifford holds a Bachelor of Business degree from Curtin University and undertook post graduate studies in Administrative and Secretarial Practice. He has more than 35 years experience in senior accounting, finance, administration and company secretarial roles in the mining, retail and wholesale industries.

He was admitted as a Fellow of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants in 1989 and as a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators in 1995. He was also admitted as a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in March 2011.

I am particularly pleased that Geoff has agreed to join the Company's Board. Geoff's wealth of experience in areas of financial management, corporate strategy and growth will add great value to Independence Group in achieving its vision of building a great Australian Mining Company.

The appointment of Mr Clifford to the Board follows the recent resignation of long-standing Non-Executive Director Mr John Christie, who was a member of the Audit, Remuneration and Hedging Committees. Mr Clifford is to be appointed as Chair of the Audit Committee and is to become a member of the Remuneration and Hedging Committees.

The Board of the Company now consists of:

Mr Peter Bilbe Mr Christopher Bonwick Dr Rod Marston Mrs Kelly Ross Mr Geoffrey Clifford Chairman Managing Director Non-Executive Director Non-Executive Director Non-Executive Director

Yours sincerely

Peter Bilbe Chairman Independence Group NL

INDEPENDENCE GROUP NL Suite 4, Level 5 South Shore Centre | 85 South Perth Esplanade, South Perth | Western Australia | 6151 PO Box 496, South Perth WA 6951

ABN 46 092 786 304 T +61 8 9238 8300 F +61 8 9238 8399 E contact@igo.com.au W www.igo.com.au CREATING VALUE THROUGH INNOVATION, DISCOVERY AND DEVELOPMENT